Liturgy & Sacraments


One of the most powerful ways to encounter Jesus is through the seven sacraments of the Church. The sacraments are traditionally described as “outward signs instituted by Christ that give grace.” The Lord always seeks to enter more deeply into our lives and to pour his divine life into us. The Sacraments of the Church are a beautiful way to encounter the Risen Lord and to grow in holiness and to be strengthened as His disciples.


We receive new life in the Sacrament of Holy Baptism as we are baptized in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit. We become a child of God in the fullest sense, we are washed clean of any taint of sin, and we are welcomed into the Body of Christ, the Church. Our Christian journey begins with baptism. Through the faith witness of our parents and godparents, our life in God continues to grow.


We believe that through the Eucharistic prayer during Holy Mass, ordinary elements of bread and wine are transformed into the Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of our Risen Lord. Jesus gave us this gift of Himself at the Last Supper. He did this so that those first disciples and all who would come after them would receive the spiritual nourishment they would need to stay strong in the faith. As we faithfully receive our Eucharistic Lord week after week, we become more like him so that we can be his presence in the world, drawing all people to Him and his Church.

Reconciliation (Confession)

Pope Francis sometimes uses the image of a field hospital to talk about an important dimension of the Church. All people are impacted by original sin and there are times when we fall into sin. Rather than being a hopeless situation, our Lord gave us this Sacrament so that we could know his mercy and forgiveness. The priest stands in the person of Jesus, being an instrument of his forgiveness in this sacrament. There is no sin bigger than the Lord’s forgiveness. He just needs a humble and contrite heart and then he can set us free.


In the US Catholic Catechism for Adults, the effects of the Sacrament of Confirmation are expressed. These effects include: “a permanent character, a perfection of baptismal grace, and increase in the gifts and fruits of the Holy Spirit, a deepening of our identity as adopted sons and daughters of God, a closer bond to the Church and her mission, and helps for bearing witness.” A key word in connection with Confirmation is “strengthening.” Through Confirmation, which is conferred by the Bishop, the recipients receive a strengthening to live the faith in daily life.

Matrimony (Marriage)

Through the exchange of vows expressing their consent, a man and a woman enter into a permanent sacred covenant which the Church has elevated to the level of a sacrament. The graces of this sacrament move them toward mutual love and a deeper union with Christ. This covenant is also ordered toward the procreation and education of children. The Church refers to the family as “the domestic church” because it is there that children learn about the faith and grow in virtue and love.

Anointing of the Sick

Healing was a very important part of Jesus’ ministry when he walked the face of the earth. The Risen Lord continues to provide healing grace through the Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick. The anointing with the oil of the sick is conferred by a priest to any Catholic who has a serious health condition and is need of healing grace. This Sacrament can be received by those who have a serious physical or mental illness. It can also help the sick person who is preparing to pass from this life to eternal life.

Holy Orders

The Catechism of the Catholic Church states that the Sacrament of Holy Orders is at the service of the communion of the Church. The ordained ministry consists of three degrees or orders: bishop, priest, and deacon. These ministries are essential for the life of Church. The ordained are commissioned to minister to the people of the Church through Word, Sacrament, and Service. As Jesus laid down His life in sacrificial love, the ordained laydown their lives in service to the people of God.