Liturgy & Sacraments

Holy Orders

What is Holy Orders?

The Catechism of the Catholic Church states that the Sacrament of Holy Orders is at the service of the communion of the Church. The ordained ministry consists of three degrees or orders: bishop, priest, and deacon. These ministries are essential for the life of Church. The ordained are commissioned to minister to the people of the Church through Word, Sacrament, and Service. As Jesus laid down His life in sacrificial love, the ordained laydown their lives in service to the people of God.

Are You Being Called to Holy Orders?

We encourage you to take time to seek more information on discerning your vocation. The Diocese of Rockford has a website called Rockford Priest where you can search for discernment information. For questions, Contact Fr. Jack Reichardt, the Vocation Director for the Diocese of Rockford. All of our priests are available if you would like to meet and have a conversation, please contact the Parish Office 815-633-6311.

Prayer for Vocations

Father, since you breathed life into our world, you had a plan for the Body of Christ, the Church. From the beginning, you have called men and women into roles of joyful sacrifice and generosity for the sake of your Kingdom. The world is in need of more souls confident to cry out with a resounding yes to your call and invitation. We ask that from our families you would inspire Sons and Daughters to offer their lives back to the Church as priests and religious, especially here in the Diocese of Rockford.

Drawing near to the Heart of your Son, we pray: Jesus, I trust in You. Amen.

                                – Fr. Robert Blood

Diocese of Rockford
Office of Vocations

Fr. Jack Reichardt, Vocation Director